SMS Annual Conference Research Methods Paper Prize

2021 Award Co-Chairs

picture of Donald Bergh
Donald Bergh
University of Denver
picture of Gwendolyn Lee
Gwendolyn Lee
University of Florida

Learn More About the Research Methods Community!

Past Award Recipients


"Evidence on Social and Financial Performance: Mapping the Empirical Garden of Forking Paths"
Luca Berchicci, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Andrew King, Boston University

Honorable Mention:

"Stuck in the Middle: Strategic Repositioning and Survival in Response to an Innovation Shock"
Woo-Yong Park, University of Nevada
Jackson Nickerson, Washington University in St. Louis
Lyda Bigelow, University of Utah

Cognitive Framing and Capability Development at the Federal Bureau of Investigation
Ryan Raffaelli, Harvard University
Tiona Zuzul, University of Washington
Ranjay Gulati, Harvard University
Jan Rivkin, Harvard University

Prize Overview

Proposed by the Research Methods Community, the SMS Awards Committee approved the creation of the Research Methods Conference Paper Prize. This prize was first awarded in 2019 and recognizes research that is presented at the Annual Conference and introduces a new or improved method or exemplifies an adept application of an existing method. The prize recognizes studies that make significant advances to any type of methodology (qualitative, quantitative, or both) and methodological decision (e.g., sampling, design, measurement, analysis, modeling, etc.).

Nominated authors are invited to submit a full version of their submitted proposal for consideration. Their papers are peer reviewed and finalists are named prior to the conference. The winner will be honored at the conference with the SMS Research Methods Paper Prize and will receive an award of US$1,500. They will be presented with a commemorative certificate and recognition at the conference, usually during the awards luncheon.

Criteria for Submission Eligibility

  • This proposal must be presented at the Annual Conference by at least one registered, attending author
  • The author(s), the title, and the subject matter of the submitted papers must match the nominated proposal
  • The paper must not have been previously published
  • The full paper must be uploaded to the SMS website no later than July 1

2021 Recipients


"Developing an Integrated Approach for Topic Modeling in Management Research"
Raphael Derstappen, WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management
Dries Faems, WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management

Honorable Mention:

"Towards Temporal Causal Inference: A Review of Differences-in-Differences Applications in Strategic Management"
Jin-Su Kang, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Yi-Chieh Chen, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Nabangshu Sinha, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University